blogs · Books · Contentment · Following Jesus · Friday Favorites · Inspiration · Scripture · Self-Discipline

Friday Favorite

I am a big fan of Lauren Winner. I love the way she is so truthful about issues within the church as well as her fresh new perspective on things I wish I had heard over 10 years ago. I remember hearing about one of her books, Real Sex, when it came out. I’m not sure why I didn’t pick it up and read it back then but I have a feeling it would have saved me a lot of heartache.

This past week, my friend Neisha let me borrow one of Winner’s books titled Mudhouse Sabbath. So good and what an easy read! Lauren Winner converted from her Orthodox Judaism upbringing to Christianity when she reached college. She still treasures many of the traditions and spiritual practices within Judaism that she incorporates into her new faith as a Follower of Jesus Christ. This is what Mudhouse Sabbath is all about. Subjects like mourning, hospitality, prayer, the body, fasting, the sabbath and fitting foods (just to name a few) are all talked about in the book. She discusses how important these areas are not only in Judaism but Christianity as well.

Please get your hands on her works and be ready to be challenged!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorite

  1. Sounds like a good read. I have been reading lots on spiritual disciplines lately, but this looks different. Thanks for the tip! Love you honey!

Leave a Reply

