Following Jesus · Friends · Inspiration · Journaling · Noah · Scripture

Here’s Hoping

I have always leaned more toward having the positive outlook on things.  If things are not going well, it’s easy for me to see the end result if God enters the picture.  It’s something that I actually like about myself and something that I think opens the door for God to act as well as an opportunity to see miracles.

Hope has always been one of my favorite words especially in my college years when I had a lot to be hopeful for.  When I hoped, my world opened wider and the possibilities where endless.  There was nothing the Lord could not do and I had complete faith in that truth.  I had a friend who exercised my level of hope and I really believe that Christ gave me His eyes and allowed me to see the way He loved my friend.  I’m not sure why the Lord chose me to see how He saw my friend but I fully relied on my hope in that God was going to change my friend’s life and that God’s glory would be introduced to other people through him.  I had all the hope verses memorized and every book with the word hope in the title read or on my bookshelf. In my mind, that hope was going to lead into the end result: my friend’s life changed.

This morning I’m reading my Bible and trying to enjoy the silence.  It’s difficult for me today to concentrate.  I was a little overwhelmed with the fact that nothing is promised to us except with that which Christ gave us.  Noah will disappoint me, my family is not perfect, the friends that I love, with the exception of a few, with not be in my life forever and I will have to struggle with this flesh for the rest of my life.  God asked me about the hope in my life and took me back to when I used to pray constantly for college friend, truly believing that the Lord would change him.  As I started to think about that, knowing well that my friend hasn’t changed, a verse in Hebrews 6 shot through my mind.  “We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.  It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain, where Jesus, who went before us, has entered on our behalf.” It suddenly hit me.  Hope isn’t the outcome of my prayers.  It isn’t security that Noah will never cheat on me or my family will never let me down….hope is God himself.  If my future marriage goes down the drain someday or my child becomes ill, my hope isn’t that my marriage is restored or my child is healed.  God is my hope that I get to lean on when those times happen.  What a relief and joyful realization!  At the same, it means that my fears that I jotted down are not promised to never happen.

My verse for the week – “We do not make requests of you because we are righteous, but because of your great mercy.”  (Daniel 9:18)

Leave a Reply

