Contentment · Following Jesus · Inspiration · Journaling · Scripture · Self-Discipline

Ache

It’s spring fever. That is what the name of it is. And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!

~Mark Twain

I love this quote by Mr. Twain.  I can remember my mom waking me up when we lived in DeForest, Wisconsin by walking into my room, singing “Rise and Shine” and pulling up the blinds to allow the sunshine into my room.  I was five years old when we moved from DeForest to northern Wisconsin so it’s safe to say I was five or under.  Even at a young age I remember that specific morning stretching in my bed and asking my mom “what is this feeling?”  She looked at me funny and asked what I was talking about.  “I want something but I don’t know what it is.”  I didn’t know what the “feeling” was then but 22 years later, I still have that “feeling,” especially when I wake up in the morning.

You know that feeling?  You are so thankful and content with life but at the same time there is an aching desire or want, for something you don’t even know if there is a definition for.  I was reading Ecclesiastes the other day and the following verse made me want to weep because finally, I could put a human definition to what I was feeling.

He has made everything appropriate in its time.  He has also set eternity in their hearts, yet so that man will not find out the work which God has done from the beginning even to the end.”  (3:1)

Isn’t it amazing that God would give us a gift like that?  Eternity is one of those topics that gives me a headache when I try to understand or comprehend it.  Yet to know that although we may not understand it, to have a built-in ache for it that comes naturally, is pretty amazing.  It’s embarrassing to think back to this past week and to the many times that the familiar ache showed itself and then for me to only disregard it as discontentment or not recognize it as possibly the voice of my God calling me to Himself.  You would think that after 27 years of experiencing this ache that it wouldn’t be a stranger anymore.

Lord, please teach me to recognize the ache for eternity.  When that whisper which says, “Katie, what are you doing here?” my heart may respond, “Your face, O Lord, I shall seek and I will be satisfied with Your likeness when I awake.”


One thought on “Ache

Leave a Reply

