Contentment · Following Jesus · Journaling · Moving · Scripture

Learning the Secret

This last week has presented many ups for us.  My parents (and little brother) have been extremely generous with their space at home.  We have taken over the whole basement and have slowly made it ours with our few belongings that didn’t make it to the storage shed.

That’s right…..we are living in Baraboo for a short season in order to pay off debt that has been looming over our heads for awhile.  I never thought that I would be moving back home, let alone, living in my parent’s basement!  Even though this wasn’t necessarily our plan, I feel that this season is definitely a gift from the Lord in so many ways.

Noah got a job at the University Wisconsin Hospital as a Project Manager of people and the whole University Hospital’s websites!  I have loved watching the Lord bring Noah “before kings” in some sense in the area of work.  We are humbled to watch Noah go from uppity downtown Portland restaurants with nothing but a server/bartender’s resume to managing people with high responsibility.  During the interview process, Noah felt that the Lord was telling him, “Noah, if you get this job its because of me and if you don’t get this job, its because of me.”

So true.

With the job came a larger salary which is both a blessing and a burden.  We will soon be debt free (Praise the Lord!) and will have more money to give away.  Almost a year ago, a group of our friends went through Randy Alcorn’s book, Treasure Principle, and it literally changed our life.  Its exciting to think of all the ways God could use the money He is giving us….which brings up the challenging part: remembering that its GOD’S MONEY.

I was reading in Philippians 4:11-13 where it says “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry,whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.”

I have been through the season where Noah and I had to wait until the next paycheck in order to buy groceries or fill up the car tank with gas.  We have taken the car in for repairs and while writing a check for a very large amount of money, wonder where in the world the money will come from.

This new season is not as scary financially but we are in just as tight of a situation in order to be responsible and to pay off debt.  Through this new job that the Lord has given Noah, we are learning that it really is true that it doesn’t matter how much you have but how you view what you have been given.

Lord, we are thankful.

Mommy & Charlie - Fall Leaves

Charlie Boy Selfie
Hudson - Fall Leaves

I am thankful for a large backyard for Huds to have fun in!
Fall Leaves

Thankful for my boys.

4 thoughts on “Learning the Secret

  1. Happy for your next steps! (even unexpected as they are) I’d love to reconnect sometime we’re both in the area. 🙂 You boys are beautiful and I would love to meet them.

Leave a Reply

