Family · Following Jesus · Life Updates · Parenting

When You Sit, Walk, Lie and Rise

Noah and I have a pretty good routine parenting thing going on.  Both boys have a much better day when we stick to a routine.  At the same time, they are also really flexible which I think I have always prided myself with (that was a confession right there by the way).  Most nights we include a bath session and then read books with daddy.  As soon as the last page is turned in the last book, Noah and I get really giddy because it means in a few minutes, we will have time to ourselves!

I get excited just typing that.

We end the night with tucking Hudson into bed and praying with him.  First daddy prays, then mommy.  I remember the first time Hudson asked us to “pray again?” Noah and I almost melted.  “Of course we will pray again!”  We quickly caught on that it was just a really cleaver way of stalling so that ended pretty quick.

The other day, the boys and I were taking care of some errands when I remembered that a friend of mine was heading back to work after having her maternity leave.  She was having a hard time with the idea and my heart went out to her.

“Hudson, want to pray for mommy’s friend with me?”

I started praying out loud in the car, thinking that my child was enjoying it as much as he does right before bed, but when I looked in the rearview mirror, I saw Hudson crying.

“No nigh-nigh!”

My child thought he was going to bed and was relating praying to sleep time.  Awesome.

That same week, I read in Deuteronomy 6 and was quickly convicted.  This is what it says:

“These commandments that I give you today are to be on your hearts.  Impress them on your children.  Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.  Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.  Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.”

No, you won’t be seeing me bind scriptures on my forehead but I am asking the Lord to show me how to make what I believe a lifestyle with my children, an every day, natural thing that my boys are familiar with and not weirded out by.  I desire for Hudson and Charlie to hear their parents pray out loud and not be fearful that its going to bring something they dislike.  I want them to see and hear us ask for wisdom and give thanks even for the littlest things.  I definitely don’t want to see them stare at me in the rearview mirror and dread but to learn that we can ask and talk to our Daddy and that He loves us, hears us and desires to give good things.

Leave a Reply

