Contentment · Journaling

Silent Nights

Every year, and I mean, every year I think to myself, “this is going to be the year that I start an Advent tradition.”  Or, “this is going to be the year that I will have everything lined up and ready to go regarding holidays in general.”

This year was not the year.

I had grand plans of having a “Thankful Tree” for the boys during the month of November but it wasn’t until three days before Thanksgiving when I remembered.  I then panicked over the fact that I had just days to get my self together and prepare for Advent.

Didn’t happen.

I am the worst when it comes to getting things to the right person on time.  I will surely buy you a birthday card and probably a gift.  Wrapped even!  The problem is, I never send it.  If you are lucky enough to receive something from me, it will probably come a month or two (I’m being completely serious) after the due date.  Implementing is definitely a weakness.

I am so thankful that with Jesus, there is no “guess I will have to wait until next year” or the rushed feeling the holidays sometimes create in us.

I love that the wise men didn’t get to see baby Jesus until he was possibly a toddler.  Even after all that time, they kept seeking for the babe.  The celebration didn’t stop at the manager.  The wise men still fell on their knees in awe of being in the presence of the Savior of the world.

So unassuming, so silent.  Isn’t that what we all secretly want when Christmas comes about?  Instead of peace and restful hearts, I hear people telling me all they want is for things to slow down.  I, too, just told a friend the other day that I needed a “silent night.”

This Christmas, don’t let yourself feel rushed or that you are going to miss your opportunity to have a special celebration, because in trying to make it all work “on time,” you will miss it completely.  Thank goodness we can still have a Thankful Tree outside the month of November.  Thankful we can celebrate Jesus all year round.

Leaving you with this beautiful quote by Ann Voskamp.  May it remind us that Christ is in the simple, the quiet and the small.  May He meet you in the silent nights in Advent 2015.

“Christ comes small, the micro-macro-miracle who comes in the whisper and says, Seek Me.  Just where you are, look for the small glimpses of God-glory breaking in, breaking out, sprouting, shooting, unfurling, bearing fruit, making a Kingdom, remaking the world…The theology of the Tree, of the Cross, always seeks the presence of God in the belittled gifts of the world….He begs us to spend the attention of Advent on the little, the least, the lonely, the lost.”

Leave a Reply

